2010 JJ Liston Stakes Gunned Down By Shoot Out

August 15th, 2010

The highlight of Australian horseracing over the weekend was undoubtedly the Group Two JJ Liston Stakes (1400m) which was anything but a letdown on Saturday afternoon.

Shoot Out asserted himself as an upcoming star of the spring racing carnival after the four-year-old overcame the wide barrier to triumph by a long head.

The run proved what a quality horse the High Chaparral gelding is, and leaves no doubt in trainer John Wallace’s mind as to how successful he will be this spring. Minutes after the victory Wallace admitted he believed Shoot Out would win the 2010 Cox Plate come the October 23.

The 2010 JJ Liston Stakes victory cemented the Australian Derby winner as a strong contender for this spring’s feature races, making it two wins from as many starts after dominating the Group Three Bletchingly Stakes (1200m) field last month.

The biggest disappointment of the day was the scratching of Shoot Out’s biggest threat – the Bart Cummings-trained So You Think. Cummings decided not to risk the 2009 Cox Plate winner due to the wet Caulfield conditions.

Mick Price would have come away from the 2010 Liston Stakes run pleased with his entrants. Five-year-old Predatory Pricer was strong over the entire race finishing second, and the Show A Heart Gelding Heart Of Dreams took third spot.

The 2010 Liston Stakes was the first up jump for last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking. It was a satisfactory run from the five-year-old which finished seventh after a strong finish coming from the back.

Next up for the Liston Stakes winner Shoot Out looks set to be a battle with champion mare Typhoon Tracy in the Group Two Memsie Stakes (1400m) on August 28.

Also taking place on Saturday at Caulfield was the Group Three Cockram Stakes (1400m) which saw a surprise win from the lightly raced mare Rhythm In Paris.

2010 JJ Liston Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Shoot Out
John Wallace Stathi Katsidis
Predatory Pricer
Mick Price Craig Newitt
Heart Of Dreams
Mick Price Damien Oliver
Vigor (NZ)
Danny O’Brien James Winks
Zavite (NZ)
Anthony Cummings Ben Melham
Monaco Consul (NZ)
Michael Moroney Craig Williams
Mark Kavanagh Stephen Baster
Sterling Prince (NZ)
Wayne Hillis Steven King
Tony Vasil Kelvin Sanderson
Mourayan (IRE)
Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall
Tony Vasil Mark Zahra
C’est La Guerre (NZ)
Robert Hickmott Danny Nikolic
Shamoline Warrior
Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
Shane Fliedner Glen Boss
So You Think (NZ)
Bart Cummings Steven Arnold